The nominees for the 2010 Streamys were announced today. The Streamys celebrate online television programming and this year they have a fantastic line up of nominees. Last year was the Streamys debut year and the winners included high profile shows such as Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog and the exceptional Battlestar Galactica web series The Face of the Enemy.

This year there is even more competition with some really interesting content now being released on the web rather than through more traditional media routes. Two of my favourites from this year’s nominee list are the excellent Interview Project which is presented by and the slightly flawed but thoroughly enjoyable Angel of Death, created by Ed Brubaker and starring Zoe Bell, which also received a DVD release last year.

The awards ceremony takes place on April 11th 2010 and the full list of nominees is listed below with handy links to all the entries (courtesy of Streamys).


Best Comedy Web Series
Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis
Easy to Assemble
The Guild
The Legend of Neil
Wainy Days

Best Drama Web Series
Angel of Death
The Bannen Way

Best Hosted Web Series
A Comicbook Orange
Kevin Pollak’s Chat Show
Know Your Meme
The Totally Rad Show

Best Reality or Documentary Web Series
Interview Project
Mommy XXX
Streak to Win
The Secret Life of Scientists

Best News or Politics Web Series
Auto-Tune the News
The Tomorrow Show with Mo Rocca
The Young Turks
VBS News

Best Foreign Web Series
Flying Kebab
Girl Number 9

Best New Web Series
$5 Cover: Memphis
Girl Number 9
Odd Jobs
Old Friends
The Bannen Way

Best Companion Web Series
Assassin’s Creed: Lineage
Dexter: Early Cuts
Harper’s Globe
The Office: Subtle Sexuality
Weeds: University of Andy

Best Animated Web Series
Eli’s Dirty Jokes
Happy Tree Friends
Homestar Runner
How It Should Have Ended
Zero Punctuation

Best Branded Entertainment Web Series
Back on Topps (Topps)
Brainstorm (Altoids)
Easy to Assemble (IKEA)
Parts Art (Lexus)
The Temp Life (Spherion)

Best Experimental Web Series
Auto-Tune the News
Green Porno
HBO Cube
Level 26

Audience Choice Award for Best Web Series
(Coming Soon!)


Best Directing for a Comedy Web Series
Blue Movies
(Scott Brown)
Dorm Life: Semester 2
(Chris Smith, Mark Stewart Iverson)
James Gunn’s PG Porn
(James Gunn)
The Guild
(Sean Becker)
The Legend of Neil
(Sandeep Parikh)

Best Directing for a Drama Web Series
Anyone But Me
(Tina Cesa Ward)
(Nathan Atkinson)
Girl Number 9
(James Moran, Dan Turner)
The Bannen Way
(Jesse Warren)
Young American Bodies
(Joe Swanberg)


Best Writing for a Comedy Web Series
Back on Topps
(Jason Sklar, Randy Sklar, Eric Friedman, Matt Price)
Dorm Life
(Chris Smith, Jordan Riggs, Jessie Gaskell, Jack De Sena, Jim Brandon, Brian Singleton, Mark Stewart Iverson)
The Legend of Neil
(Tony Janning, Sandeep Parikh)
The Guild
(Felicia Day)
Wainy Days
(David Wain)

Best Writing for a Drama Web Series
Anyone But Me
(Susan Miller, Tina Cesa Ward)
(Bernie Su)
Girl Number 9
(James Moran)
The Bannen Way
(Jesse Warren, Mark Gantt)
(Christian Taylor)


Best Male Actor in a Comedy Web Series
Zach Galifianakis — (Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis)
Tony Hale — (CTRL)
Amir Blumenfeld — (Jake and Amir)
Sandeep Parikh — (The Guild)
David Wain — (Wainy Days)

Best Female Actor in a Comedy Web Series
Illeana Douglas — (Easy to Assemble)
Justine Bateman — (Easy to Assemble)
Joanna Cassidy — (Sex Ed)
Felicia Day — (The Guild)
Lisa Kudrow — (Web Therapy)

Best Male Actor in a Drama Web Series
Craig Frank — (Compulsions)
Robert Englund — (Fear Clinic)
Joe Absolom — (Girl Number 9)
Mark Gantt — (The Bannen Way)
Eric Balfour — (Valemont)

Best Female Actor in a Drama Web Series
Zoe Bell — (Angel of Death)
Rachael Hip-Flores — (Anyone But Me)
Tatyana Ali — (Buppies)
Sophie Tilson — (OzGirl)
Crystal Chappell — (Venice)

Best Ensemble Cast in a Web Series
Back on Topps
(Randy Sklar, Jason Sklar, Jason Nash, Janet Varney, Stephanie Courtney, Brian Huskey, Phil LaMarr)
Dorm Life
(Nora Kirkpatrick, Hannah Pearl Utt, Anne Lane, Jessie Gaskell, Brian Singleton, Jack De Sena, Jim Brandon, Jordan Riggs, Pancho Morris)
Easy to Assemble
(Illeana Douglas, Justine Bateman, Eric Lange, Michael Irpino, Cheri Oteri, Daryl Sabara, Michael Panes, Rob Mailhouse, Sean Durrie, Tom Arnold, Ed Begley Jr., Tim Meadows, Ricki Lake, Greg Proops, Kevin Pollak)
(Robert J. Brewer, James Paul Xavier, Nathan Mobley, Rick Robinson, David Nett, Gary Karp, Shannon Ivey, Alan Loayza, Shannon Nelson, Jeremy Guskin, Angela Schnaible)
The Guild
(Vincent Caso, Felicia Day, Jeff Lewis, Amy Okuda, Sandeep Parikh, Robin Thorsen)

Best Guest Star in a Web Series
Chris Hardwick — (Back on Topps)
Nathan Fillion — (PG Porn)
“Weird Al” Yankovic — (Know Your Meme)
Wil Wheaton — (The Guild)
Courteney Cox — (Web Therapy)

Best Web Series Host
Alex Albrecht — (Diggnation)
Zadi Diaz — (Epic Fu)
Kevin Pollak — (Kevin Pollak’s Chat Show)
Kristyn Burtt — (The Web.Files)
Michael Buckley — (What The Buck?!)

Best Vlogger
Brigitte Dale — (Brigitte Dale)
iJustine — (iJustine)
Phillip DeFranco — (sxePhil)
Shane Dawson — (ShaneDawsonTV)
Shira Lazar — (Shira Lazar)

Craft Awards

Best Editing in a Web Series
$5 Cover: Memphis (Nathan Black, Morgan Jon Fox, Josh Swain)
Angel of Death (Jochen Kunstler, Jacob Vaughan)
Auto-Tune the News (Evan Gregory, Andrew Gregory, Michael Gregory)
I Kissed a Vampire (David Bekoff)
The Bannen Way (Zack Arnold)

Best Cinematography in a Web Series
Angel of Death (Carl Herse)
Circle of Eight (Michael Lohmann)
LUMINA (XiaoSu Han, Andreas Thalhammer)
Mountain Man (Robert Lam)
Riese (Christopher Charles Kempinski)

Best Art Direction in a Web Series
$99 Music Videos (Kit Pennebaker)
Green Porno (Rick Gilbert)
Mountain Man (Matt Enlow)
Riese (Chad Krowchuk)
Tiki Bar TV (Kim Bailey)

Best Sound Design in a Web Series
Fear Clinic (Kunal Rajan)
Mountain Man (Michael Miller)
Riese (Bill Mellow, Kevin Belen)
Rockville, CA (Seth Talley)
The Vetala (Randy Kiss)

Best Visual Effects in a Web Series

Backyard FX (Erik Beck)
Fear Clinic (Jason M Bergman, Nicholas Onstad, Bethany Pederson, David Dang)
Mordy Koots (Reece Sanders, Clayton Jacobson)
Safety Geeks: SVI (Thor Melsted, Mike Smith)
The Crew (Jeff Bell, Zack Finfrock, Brett Register)

Best Animation in a Web Series
College Humor: Hardly Working (Dan Meth)
Happy Tree Friends (David Winn, Alan Lau, Jason Sadler, Brad Rau, Roque Bollestros, Paul Allan, Nica Lorber, Michael Lipman)
How It Should Have Ended (Daniel Baxter, Tommy Watson, Tina Alexander)
Inventions (Chris Weller, David Lamps)
theGoob (Magnus Jansson)

Best Original Music in a Web Series
Auto-Tune the News (Evan Gregory, Andrew Gregory, Michael Gregory)
Horrible Turn (Chance McClain, Kevin Ryan, Frank Bullington, Jeremy Botter)
Key of Awesome (Mark Douglas)
Sparhusen (Rob Mailhouse, Todd Spahr, Illeana Douglas)
The Coat (Thierry Chaze)

Best Live Production in a Web Series
Coin-Op TV Live
Fantasy Football Live!
Kevin Pollak’s Chat Show
The RadNerd Show

Best Interactive Experience in a Web Series
Circle of Eight
I <3 Vampires
Married on MySpace
Wreck and Salvage: Suppendapo

Best Product Integration in a Web Series
Circle of Eight (Mountain Dew)
Easy to Assemble (IKEA)
The Bannen Way (Jaguar)
Valemont (Verizon Wireless)
Woke Up Dead (Kodak)

Best Mobile Experience in a Web Series
AT&T Life Without Mobile
Mr. Wrong
Playboy: Interns
Seth on Survival