Photo credit: ©BAFTA/Vivek Vadoliya, 2023

BAFTA Breakthrough is a wonderful Netflix-supported initiative that celebrates the very best of young talent. In its 10th year, the alumni boasts the likes of Florence Pugh, Tom Holland and Letitia Wright – and this year comes a whole host of exciting new names. One of which caught our eye especially, which is Vivian Oparah, who shone in Peckham-set rom-com Rye Lane, which enamoured viewers with its spring-time release. We discuss what it means to her to be named as a BAFTA Breakthrough artist, and naturally we look back to Rye Lane, to talk about shooting the film, and the lasting, indelible impact it has left. She also looks ahead to a future that we’re gonna consider pretty damn bright.

Watch the full interview with Vivian Oparah here:

See below for the full list of this year’s stars:


  • Adjani Salmon, writer/performer/exec producer – Dreaming Whilst Black
  • Bella Ramsey, performer – The Last of Us
  • Cash Carraway, creator/writer/exec producer – Rain Dogs
  • Charlotte Regan, writer/director – Scrapper
  • Cynthia De La Rosa, hair & makeup artist – Everyone Else Burns
  • Ella Glendining, director – Is There Anybody Out There?
  • Funmi Olutoye, lead producer – ‘Black History Makers’ (Good Morning Britain)
  • Georgia Oakley, writer/director – Blue Jean
  • Holly Reddaway, voice and performance director – Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Joel Beardshaw, lead designer – Desta: The Memories Between
  • Kat Morgan, hair & makeup designer – Blue Jean
  • Kathryn Ferguson, writer/director – Nothing Compares
  • Kitt (Fiona) Byrne, 2D artist/game designer – Gibbon: Beyond the Trees
  • Michael Anderson, producer – Desta: The Memories Between
  • Pete Jackson, writer/creator – Somewhere Boy
  • Raine Allen-Miller, director – Rye Lane
  • Rosy McEwen, performer – Blue Jean
  • Samantha Béart, performer – The Excavation of Hob’s Barrow
  • Talisha ‘Tee Cee’ Johnson, writer/director/presenter – Too Autistic for Black
  • Vivian Oparah, performer – Rye Lane


  • Amanda Kim, documentary director – Nam June Paik: Moon Is The Oldest TV
  • Aminah Nieves, performer – 1923
  • Apoorva Charan, producer – Joyland
  • Cheyenne Pualani Morrin, senior games writer – STAR WARS Jedi: Survivor
  • Edward Buckles Jr. documentary director – Katrina Babies
  • Gary Gunn, composer – A Thousand and One
  • Jingyi Shao, writer & director – Chang Can Dunk
  • Maria Altamirano, producer – All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
  • Santiago Gonzalez, cinematographer – Shortcomings
  • Shelly Yo, writer & director – Smoking Tigers
  • Sing J Lee, writer & director – The Accidental Getaway Driver
  • Vuk Lungulov-Klotz, writer & director – Mutt


  • Abhay Koranne, writer – Rocket Boys
  • Abhinav Tyagi, editor – An Insignificant Man
  • Don Chacko Palathara, director/writer – Joyful Mystery
  • Kislay, writer – Soni
  • Lipika Singh Darai, director/writer – Some Stories Around Witches
  • Miriam Chandy Menacherry, producer – From the Shadows and The Leopard’s Tribe
  • Pooja Rajkumar Rathod, cinematographer – Secrets of the Elephants
  • Sanal George, sound editor/mixer/designer – Gangubai Kathiawadi
  • Satya Rai Nagpaul, cinematographer – Ghoomketu
  • Shardul Bhardwaj, performer – Eeb Allay Ooo!