British Independent Film Awards Logo

Each year The British Independent Film Awards are a beacon of excellence shining its light on some of the best films of the year.

Unlike the Globes, Oscars and BAFTAs the BIFAs are not swayed by political persuasions or anchored by a celebrity guest list; it celebrates greatness in the world of cinema and is the most reliable bellwether for the brightest stars to watch in the coming year.

Check out our red carpet interview from the event here.

The list of nominees below is testament to a fine year in Independent film, lining up Andrew Haigh’s 45 Years, Justin Kurzel’s Macbeth and Ben Wheatley’s High-Rise (with a little Lobster thrown in for good measure) makes for a fine celebration of films of all variety.

We love the BIFAs dearly, and we are on the red carpet this evening to interview the great and the good – look out for those interviews on the site later this evening.

The ceremony is being live-streamed, and you can see that below, and the winners will be updated below. The red carpet will be trampled from 19.00 GMT with the ceremony from 20.00 GMT so watch on below.

Here is the complete list of nominees (winners to be updated in bold at the close of the ceremony),


The nominees and winners (in bold) are below.

Best Actor

  • Colin Farrell for The Lobster
  • Michael Fassbender for Macbeth
  • Tom Courtenay for 45 Years
  • Tom Hardy for Legend
  • Tom Hiddleston for High-Rise

Best Supporting Actor

  • Ben Whishaw for The Lobster
  • Brendan Gleeson for Suffragette
  • Domhnall Gleeson for Brooklyn
  • Luke Evans for High-Rise
  • Sean Harris for Macbeth

Best Actress

  • Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl
  • Carey Mulligan for Suffragette
  • Charlotte Rampling for 45 Years
  • Marion Cotillard for Macbeth
  • Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actress

  • Anne Marie Duff for Suffragette
  • Helena Bonham Carter for Suffragette
  • Julie Walters for Brooklyn
  • Olivia Colman for The Lobster
  • Sienna Miller for High-Rise

Best Director

  • 45 Years Andrew Haigh
  • Amy Asif Kapadia
  • Ex Machina Alex Garland
  • The Lobster Yorgos Lanthimos
  • Macbeth Justin Kurzel

Best Documentary

  • Amy
  • Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance
  • How to Change the World
  • Palio
  • A Syrian Love Story

The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director)

  • The Hallow Corin Hardy
  • Kajaki: The True Story Paul Katis
  • Nina Forever Chris Blaine, Ben Blaine
  • Slow West John Maclean
  • The Survivalist Stephen Fingleton

Best Screenplay

  • 45 Years Andrew Haigh
  • Brooklyn Nick Hornby
  • Ex Machina Alex Garland
  • High-Rise Amy Jump
  • The Lobster Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou

Best British Independent Film

  • 45 Years
  • Amy
  • Ex Machina
  • The Lobster
  • Macbeth

Most Promising Newcomer

  • Abigail Hardingham for Nina Forever
  • Agyness Deyn for Sunset Song
  • Bel Powley for A Royal Night Out
  • Mia Goth for The Survivalist
  • Milo Parker for Mr Holmes

Producer of the Year

  • 45 Years
  • Amy
  • Paul Katis, Andrew De Lotbiniere –  Kajaki: The True Story
  • The Lobster
  • The Violators

Outstanding Achievement in Craft

    • Editing – Chris King for Amy
    • Casting – Fiona Weir for Brooklyn
    • Production Design – Mark Digby for Ex Machina
    • VFX – Andrew Whitehurst for Ex Machina
    • Cinematography – Adam Arkapaw for Macbeth

The Discovery Award

  • Aaaaaaaah!
  • Burn Burn Burn
  • Jeanie Finlay – Orion: The Man Who Would Be King
  • The Return
  • Winter

Best British Short

  • Balcony
  • Crack
  • Emilie Jouffroy, Nina Gantz – Edmond
  • Love Is Blind

Best International Independent Film

  • Carol
  • Force Majeure
  • Girlhood
  • Room
  • Son of Saul