‘What We Do In The Shadows’ co-creator Jemaine Clement has jumped on board James Cameron’s ‘Avatar’ sequels.

Clement, who takes up the role of marine biologist Dr. Ian Garvin, will be joining Michelle Yeoh who will play the role of scientist Dr. Karina Mogue, Zoe Saldana, who reprises the role of the Na’vi princess Neytiri. Sam Worthington will also return as the human-turned-Na’vi Jake Sully. Sigourney Weaver and bad guy Stephen Lang will be back too. Other newcomers include ‘Game of Thrones’ Oona Chaplin and Fear the Walking Dead’s Cliff Curtis will be joining the sequels, and Edie Falco is playing the new character General Ardmore. Kate Winslet will also be reuniting with Cameron playing the role of Ronal.

“I’ve loved Jemaine’s work for years and I’m really pumped that he’s joining our cast as Ian Garvin, one of my favourite characters,” Cameron said in a statement.

Producer Jon Landau has previously stated that each movie will act as a standalone movie.

As well as producing, Cameron and Landau have also co-written the script alongside Josh Friedman, Rick Jaffa, Amanda Silver and Shane Salerno.

Also in news – Game of Thrones creators’ Star Wars movies will follow Rise of Skywalker

Clement is the co-creator of the FX comedy series ‘What We Do in the Shadows’ which is based on the 2014 Vampire mockumentary with Taika Waititi. His other acting projects include ‘Legion’ with Dan Stevens and Brad’s Status alongside Ben Stiller.

The current official release dates are December 18, 2020, for ‘Avatar 2’, December 17, 2021, for ‘Avatar 3’, December 20, 2024, for ‘Avatar 4’ and December 19, 2025, for ‘Avatar 5’.