Fantastic Fest came to a close late last night after numerous horror, science fiction, fantasy, action, Asian, and cult films were screened at the Alamo Drafthouse.

It culminated with an awards ceremony in Austin, TX to honor the best of the festival.

The press release from Fantastic Fest, including all the award winners, is embedded below:

Austin, TX— Monday, September 27, 2010— Fantastic Fest is excited to announce this year’s crop of Fantastic Fest titles includes some of the brightest and hardest-hitting films of all time. We’ve seen a psycho-kinetic tire, a secret ninja, a town invaded by 8-bit enemies, and a family of cannibals that you might consider going home with. It’s a terrible task to pick favorites and single out any of the magnificent films, but our esteemed team of jurors have done the nearly impossible and chosen the best and most striking films of the festival.

The juries were comprised of some of the most esteemed filmmakers, critics, festival directors and show biz people in the industry. Their thoughtful deliberations provided the following acknowledgments of cinematic excellence in all things Fantastic.

The audience awards are presented by accounting firm Maxwell Locke & Ritter, who provided the certified tabulation of ballots this year. AMD and Dell are the presenters of prestigious “Next Wave” Awards, which honor emerging filmmakers.

Audience Award

Bedevilled (Jang Cheol-so)

AMD & Dell “Next Wave” Spotlight Competition

Best Picture: We Are What We Are (Jorge Michel Grau)

Best Director: Thomas Cappelen Malling (We Are What We Are)

Best Screenplay: Jorge Michel Grau (We Are What We Are)

Best Actor: Mads Ousdal (Norwegian Ninja)

Best Actress: Ji Sung-won (Bedevilled)

Horror Features

Best Picture: Kidnapped

Best Director: Miguel Ángel Vivas (Kidnapped)

Best Screenplay: Simon Barrett (A Horrible Way to Die)

Best Actor: A J Bowen (A Horrible Way to Die)

Best Actress: Amy Seimetz (A Horrible Way to Die)

Fantastic Features

Best Picture: Sound of Noise

Best Director: Pablo Trapero (Carancho)

Best Screenplay: Shion Sono and Yoshiki Takahashi (Cold Fish)

Best Actor: Stellan Skarsgård (Somewhat Gentle Man)

Best Actress: Martina Gusman (Carancho)

Horror Shorts

Best Horror Short: Legend of Beaver Dam (Jerome Sable)

Honorable Mention – Best Potential: Deus Irae (Pedro Cristiani)

Fantastic Shorts

Best Fantastic Short: Sorry…I Love You (Leticia Dolera)

Animated Shorts

Best Animated Short: Teclópolis (Javier Mrad)