Acting as a foundation for the violent wish fulfillment inherent in the world of The Purge is the social commentary of the modern American ideology. The latest installment, the third so far, pitches its tent in plain sight – The Purge: Election Year is coming.

Frank Grillo returns along with Elizabeth Mitchell, Edwin Hodge, Betty Gabriel, Kyle Secor, JJ Soria and Mykelti Williamson. Jason Blum produced the film which was written and directed by James DeMonaco.

The film is out on the 15th of July this year – get ready for a kick in the ballots.

Here’s the trailer,

Synopsis time.

THE PURGE: ELECTION YEAR reveals the next terrifying chapter of 12 hours of anarchy that is sanctioned annually by the New Founders of America.