Last Nazi War Criminal feature imageAs Sheffield Doc/Fest 2014 draws to a close (with some outro parties still to take place over the weekend of course), it’s time to take a look at this year’s award winners. In a ceremony held this morning at Sheffield’s Crucible Theatre, the top-doc Special Jury Award was won by Jacqui Morris and David Morris’ combative documentary on Sir Harold Evans and The Sunday Times’ decade-long campaign to gain compensation for victims of Thalidomide. It’s thrilling to see a special mention handed out to Andre Singer’s Night Will Fall – and that both documentaries deal with the gruesome legacies of the Nazis. For the full list of winners, see below.

Special Jury Award
Attacking the Devil: Harold Evans and the Last Nazi War Crime (Jacqui Morris, David Morris)
Special mention to Night Will Fall (Andre Singer)

In The Dark Sheffield International Audio Award
Everything, Nothing, Harvey Keitel (Pejk Malinovski)

Peter Wintonick Award
Vessel (Diana Whitten)

Innovation Award
A Short History of the Highrise (Katerina Cizek)

Green Award
Unearthed (Jolynn Minnaar)

Youth Jury Award
The Internet’s Own Boy (Brian Knappenberger)
Special mention to Happiness (Thomas Balmes)

Tim Hetherington Award
Profession: Documentarist (Shirin Barghnavard, Firouzeh Khosrovani, Farahnaz Sharifi, Mina Keshavarz, Sepideh Abtahi, Sahar Salahshoor, Nahid Rezaei)

Short Documentary Award
Amanda F**king Palmer on the Rocks (Ondi Timoner)

Student Documentary Award
Our Curse (Tomasz Sliwinski)

Inspiration Award
Laura Poitras

Lifetime Achievement Award
Roger Graef