The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Character Poster – GloinWarner Bros. have released the entire official soundtrack to the first part of Peter Jackson’s The Hobbit trilogy. We’ve embedded it below for your listening pleasure and would love to know what you think in the comments below.

The adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Sorcerers. Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain, first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever…Gollum. Here, alone with Gollum, on the shores of an underground lake, the unassuming Bilbo Baggins not only discovers depths of ingenuity and courage that surprise even him, he also gains possession of Gollum’s “precious” ring that holds unexpected and useful qualities… A simple, gold ring that is tied to the fate of all Middle-earth in ways Bilbo cannot begin to know.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey will be released in 3D in regular and IMAX theatres on 13th December here in the UK, followed a day later on 14th December in the US. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug will then land on 13th December, 2013, and finally The Hobbit: There and Back Again on 18th July, 2014.


The tracklisting is as follows:

Disc 1:

  • My Dear Frodo
  • Old Friends*
  • An Unexpected Party*
  • Axe or Sword?
  • Misty Mountains performed by Richard Armitage and The Dwarf Cast
  • The Adventure Begins
  • The World is Ahead
  • An Ancient Enemy
  • Radagast the Brown*
  • Roast Mutton
  • A Troll-hoard
  • The Hill of Sorcery
  • Warg-scouts

Disc 2:

  • The Hidden Valley
  • Moon Runes*
  • The Defiler
  • The White Council*
  • Over Hill
  • A Thunder Battle
  • Under Hill
  • Riddles in the Dark
  • Brass Buttons
  • Out of the Frying-Pan
  • A Good Omen
  • Song of the Lonely Mountain performed by Neil Finn*
  • Dreaming of Bag End

Source: Empire