2020 has seen the cancellation of many film festivals around the world due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Even though Cannes, one of the most prestigious festivals, won’t be going ahead they have compiled 2020’s Official Selection.

Comprising of 56 films that would have been selected to play at this year’s festival, the selection is made up of features from filmmakers that have been selected at least before, newcomers, documentary’s and animations.

Amongst the line-up is Steve McQueen’s ‘Lovers Rock’ and ‘Mangrove’ which McQueen has dedicated to George Floyd.

“I dedicate these films to George Floyd and all the other black people that have been murdered, seen or unseen, because of who they are, in the U.S., U.K. and elsewhere,” said McQueen. “‘If you are the big tree, we are the small axe.’ Black Lives Matter.”

Others amongst the line-up include Wes Anderson’s highly anticipated ‘The French Dispatch,’ Sang-ho Yeon’s ‘Train to Busan’ sequel ‘Peninsula,’ and Pixar’s music-themed ‘Soul’.

‘Gods Own Country’ helmer Francis Lee’s Lesbian drama ‘Ammonite’ is amongst the selection alongside Viggo Mortensen’s ‘Falling’ with which he makes his directorial debut.

Also in news – Josh Gad reunites the cast of ‘Lord of the Rings’ in latest ‘Reunited Apart’ episode

The Faithful
“The French Dispatch,” Wes Anderson
“Summer 85,” François Ozon
“True Mothers,” Naomi Kawase
“Lovers Rock,” Steve McQueen
“Mangrove,” Steve McQueen
“Another Round,” Thomas Vinterberg
“ADN” (“DNA”), Maïwenn
“Last Words,” Jonathan Nossiter
“Heaven: To The Land of Happiness,” Im Sang-Soo
“Forgotten we’ll be,” Fernando Trueba
“Peninsula,” Yeon Sang-Ho
“In The Dusk,” Sharunas Bartas
“Home Front,” Lucas Belvaux
“The Real Thing,” Kôji Fukada

The Newcomers
“Passion Simple,” Danielle Arbid
“A Good Man,” Marie Castille Mention-Schaar
“Les choses qu’on dit, les choses qu’on fait,” Emmanuel Mouret
“Squad,” Ayten Amin
“Limbo,” Ben Sharrock
“Red Soil,” Farid Bentoumi
“Sweat,” Magnus Von Horn
“Teddy,” Ludovic et Zoran Boukherma
“February,” Kamen Kalev
“Ammonite,” Francis Lee
“Un Médecin de Nuit,” Elie Wajeman
“Enfant Terrible,” Oskar Roehler
“Nadia, Butterfly,” Pascal Plante
“Here We Are,” Nir Bergman

An Omnibus Film
“Septet: The Story of Hong Kong,” Ann Hui

The First Features
“Falling,” Viggo Mortensen
“Pleasure,” Ninja Thyberg
“Slalom,” Charlène Favier
“Memory House,” Joao Paulo Miranda Maria
“Broken Keys,” Jimmy Keyrouz
“Ibrahim,” Samir Guesmi
“Beginning,” Déa Kulumbegashvili
“Gagarine,” Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh
“16 Printemps,” Suzanne Lindon
“Vaurien,” Peter Dourountzis
“Garcon Chiffon,” Nicolas Maury
“Should the Wind Fall,” Nora Martirosyan
“John and The Hole,” Pascual Sisto
“Striding Into The Wind,” Wei Shujun
“The Death of Cinema And My Father Too,” by Dani Rosenberg

Three Documentary films
“The Billion Road,” Dieudo Hamadi
“The Truffle Hunters,” Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw
“9 Jours a Raqqa,” Xavier de Lauzanne

Five Comedy Films
“Antoinette Dans Les Cévennes,” Caroline Vignal
“Les Deux Alfred,” Bruno Podalydès
“The Big Hit,” Emmanuel Courcol
“L’origine du monde,” Laurent Lafitte
“Le discours,” Laurent Tirard

Four Animated Features
“Earwig and the Witch,” Gorô Miyazaki
“Flee,” Jonas Poher Rasmussen
“Josep,” Aurel
“Soul,” Pete Docter

Each will receive a Cannes 2020 label as part of the festival’s eclectic Official Selection.